Alcohol

I am 19 years old and I have never consumed alcohol.

I have been into the hospital multiple times as well as to doctors appointments and every time I get asked the question, “Do you drink alcohol?” and every time I answer “no” they give me a look. You know the look? Probably not. Well it’s the same look your parents give you when they know you’re lying and/or hiding something. That look normally gets followed with a “I understand you are under age but do not be afraid to let us know if you have consumed alcohol in the past 24 hours. You aren’t in any trouble.” I go through this a lot. The look that I get from doctors is something that I ma used to. I am a 19 year old female who is on her second year of college and I have never drank alcohol? Yeah, I get it. It’s hard to believe it.

I don’t have any problem with anybody that drinks. It’s really non of my concern what it is that you decide to put into your body. Truly, if it makes you happy, keep doing what you love. Be safe and don’t let anybody stop you from doing your thing.

There’s really no reason as to why I don’t choose to consume alcohol. Religion and or any beliefs interfere with me not drinking alcohol. Personally if someone offered me some I would take it. I just have never been put into a situation where that has been done. I don’t really go out to parties, mostly because I have no friends. I stay home a lot of the time and even when I was living out in San Francisco, I still stayed sober. I had no friendships strong enough out there, so I never went out. For the most part it was school, work, lonely walks to the beach, grocery runs, etc. I never once went to a party, the craziest night I had out there in San Francisco was being apart of the EπA sorority interest group. Late night rituals around candles at 3am, long emotional talks with strangers, and talking about my unknown future with the sorority girls. Alcohol? Never. In high school, I was never apart of the migration of the social butterflies, I was more of a caterpillar trying to figure out if I wanted to be on drum line or cross country. I spent weekends with my boyfriend or watching Netflix, as I do now.

Alcohol has never really been something that I needed to have fun. I get it that some people love to have it around when they are having a good time, and I don’t judge you or anybody. The only reason I don’t need it to have fun, because I have learned to not have access to it due to my social standing. Oh and because I am not 21.

I always beat myself up because of this little fact. How is it that my 19 year old butt has never consumed alcohol. Irma, really? But you lived in San Francisco. What??? Yeah. I sometimes have dreams of this girl, aka me, being a social butterfly and drinking alcohol. A lot of people think that a big deal breaker for me is telling me that there is going to be alcohol somewhere, but it really isn’t. I make choices based on the surroundings not so much the drinks. I guess that’s where I made my first mistake? I’m not really normal or what society considers “normal” is what I am trying to say. I take on the world from a whole different persona that most people don’t.

I guess at the end of the day it truly does’t matter what it is that I do and don’t put into my body, unless it’s poison then in that case it does matter. I know that nobody cares if I drink or not, but I am the biggest bully to myself. It bothers me that I haven’t been able to take this off my chest so now I am happy that I don’t have to carry this around. I am working on trying not to be so hard on myself, so if you are a constant reader of my blog get ready to hear about some odd facts that I beat myself up with on the daily.

Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit.

– Ephesians 5:18

Leave a Reply

