Dear Viri,

Happy Late Birthday Viri!! I know you read my blogs so I’ll know you’ll see this. I gave you a birthday present without a birthday card which is something I normally don’t do. So I guess you can say this blog post is your birthday card.

I know I was late on your birthday present so I am sorry! But regardless, I really do hope that your birthday was filled with smiles. You are one of the sweetest people that I have her met and i’m so grateful that we are still friends. It makes me really happy to see you so full of life and that you always have such a radiant smile on your face. I hope you and your boyfriend are doing good. Let me just tell you that having a boyfriend is such a beautiful feeling so keep him girl.

So happy that you will be attending Sacramento State in the fall. College is hard but it’s definitely worth it, I promise. Don’t ever give up on your education and most importantly don’t ever give up on yourself. Although you are going to be close by to home if you ever need anything or anybody, you have my number. Don’t ever be afraid to reach out at whatever time. If you ever need a ride, a place to stay, food, money, someone to talk to, a shoulder to cry on, or any other type of help, i’m here for you. Even though we don’t talk on an every day basis, i’m here for you. I wish you nothing but the best. I know that you will do great things in life because you are amazing.

A word of advice, write. Jot down your days and your experiences, you won’t regret it. Buy a notebook or a journal or write on your iPhone notes. Write. You’ll look back on it and see how far you’ve grown as a person. And from someone who had to move back home, take it easy. Don’t put so much pressure on yourself. You are going to be just fine. You can do it. Party, focus on school, go on adventures, meet new people, study, and join everything. But also, take time for yourself. Learn to take a step back and give yourself a minute to breathe. Skip a weekend of partying and treat yourself. It’s so important. But most importantly Viri, realize that it’s okay to cry. It’s okay to feel like giving up. It’s okay to make mistakes. It’s okay to not pass a class. If you are giving it your your all then maybe it’s a message from God. Move on. You’ll be fine. Don’t be to hard on yourself. Not everyone succeeds on their first try, and you have more than just one attempt.

Thank you for visiting me today, it meant a lot. Since i’ve moved back home i’ve reached out to many of my old friends but nobody has reached back out to me. You took time out of your day to drop by and I am so blessed to have someone like you in my life. I love you so much and once again, Happy Birthday!

 

One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

– Proverbs 18:24

Leave a Reply

