Muffy

I hope you never have to experience losing a friend. I lost one of my best friends on February 26, 2017. This little guy has been in my life for briefly 14 years and he will continue to hold a special place in my heart. No matter how many days go by there is never a day where he doesn’t cross my mind. He made me mad, but he also made me very happy. We had a special bond that was unbreakable. I used to take him on runs that would sometimes be about 10 miles and you could tell he was out of shape and just wanted to stop and rest. He always finished my water bottle, but it was okay because he needed it more than me.

I should mention that my friend, was a dog. He was my companion and you never really know you lost someone until you come home and don’t find him sitting there. Every morning that I wake up I walk into my brothers room thinking that I have to open the back door so that he can go out and pee. He definitely left me in a time when I needed him the most. It breaks my heart but it also makes me happy that he won’t be hurting anymore. He is in a better place. A place where he can eat all the food he wants and run in open fields with other beautiful animals. He will be waiting for me up there to help me cross the bridge. God, let Muffy know that he was missed and that we all love him.

On February 26, 2017, my mother and I drove him to the veterinary hospital in Davis and checked him in. The vet took one look at him and quickly took him in where they plugged him into a machine to help breathe. I was then told that my dog had anemia and his immune system was working against his 12 pound body. His breathing was rough that he wasn’t getting enough oxygen to his brain. Muffy also liquid in his lungs along with a tumor and due to his old age his body just wasn’t on his side anymore. I made a decision that till this day breaks my heart. His operations didn’t guarantee he was going to get better and there was actually a really big chance that they would lose him during the operation. Dogs don’t have the ability to talk so the thought that he was probably suffering for a very long time crossed my mind. I didn’t want my little baby to suffer anymore, because he was so small. I got him when I was in the 1st grade a little after I got my appendix removed, I am now a freshman in college. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye, but I knew he was in pain. When I was asked, “would you like to put him to sleep,” I knew he needed it. It was the correct choice. I know he’s in a better place, but I hope he forgives me for making a decision on his life. I said “see you later” to my best friend. He was so pure.

Dogs perform their job as a pet so well. They make their owners so happy and just fulfill that empty gap that people feel. They are companions. He was my baby. My father cried when he realized that we had put him down. My father a 50 year old man that never reveals his emotions, cried. I hope Muffy knows that he definitely had an important spot in this family. Every time my dad leaves the back door open or the garage door open my mom yells at my dad saying that Muffy is going to run out, but then realizes that he is no longer with us. 14 years filled with his vibrant company. Muffy was an angel given to us by God himself. He was a trouble maker but if I would do anything to have him pee on the carpet or eat my brothers chips one more time.

This one time he ran out of our house and my mom sent my brother and his friend to go out and look for him. They ended up walking a mile or two looking for him and Muffy ended up walking to our house knocking on the door waiting for my mom to answer. This other similar time, he ran out and my mom was alone so she didn’t go after him because she expected him to eventually come back. He didn’t come back all night. The following morning at around 6am, he showed up at our door step barking and scratching our front door and my mom was so mad. He really drove my mother crazy, but it was just their bond. (Here’s a little entry with him in it.)

When we first got Muffy, he was very afraid and didn’t want to come out of his little house. He had a very strong connection to his previous owner, who had to give Muffy up. Since he was in a new home and a new town with new owners he was very scared. We got him when he was one years old so he was a very small dog (he didn’t grow much). We gave him milk because he couldn’t really eat food. Within the first couple of days he ran out from our backyard and we had to go running after him. This one time on the 4th of July, he was very scared with the loud noise that was coming from the fireworks so he ran out. He had his leash on so I knew that we could always just step on the leash. So I went sprinting after him and since it was dark I reached my leg out to step on his leash and didn’t notice that the the sidewalk went down, so I fell. I scraped both my knees so badly that till this day I have really bad scarring. My dog ended up stopping at a bush to pee which was 2-3 steps where I fell. This dog drove me absolutely crazy but I wouldn’t have traded him for anything.

My dog would have these stages in his life where he would get really fat and then really skinny and then really fat and so on. So this one time I decided that I wanted to take him on a hike to a waterfall. It was located 2 hours away from my town and my dog absolutely hates car rides. Throughout the whole car ride he would jump from seat to seat and shed hair on my boyfriend and his siblings. When we got to the trail, he noticed that it was very steep and at this time he was very fat so he just sat down and refused to walk. My boyfriend had to carry him until we got to flat land. Once we made it to the waterfall, he got very stiff and actually refused to get near the water. I know what you’re thinking, “you’re a horrible owner for making him go through that”. But no. When we put him down he actually really enjoyed the breeze of the waterfall and started marking his territory on all the rocks. He was a very happy dog who I knew deep down loved adventure. The cover photo to this entry is actually him once we finished the small hike to the waterfall. Gosh, I miss him.

When his ashes where delivered to us we got a card with the “Rainbow Bridge” written on it. Before I read this I was really worried that Muffy was hungry up there in heaven or if he was scared. He ate everything that he could get his little mouth on, but he was also a very scared dog. Every 4th of July he would shake and bark, or when I took him to a waterfall he was very scared. So as his owner and friend I was afraid that he was scared because he wouldn’t recognize anybody or that he was hungry, but then I read this:

Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

-Unknown Author

Leave a Reply

